Hebron Divided

Hebron_Divided_1.jpgAll of Hebron was still under Israeli military control until 1997 when the Palestinian Liberation Organization and Israel signed the Hebron Protocol, dividing Hebron into areas H1 and H2. H1 comprises 18 square kilometers with 115,000 Palestinian residents. It is controlled by the Palestinian Authority. H2 is still under direct control of the Israeli military. It covers 4,3 square kilometers with about 35,000 Palestinian residents. It contains the Hebron’s historic city center and eastern suburbs. As a direct result of the settlers and the illegal Israeli occupation, Palestinian residents of H2 are denied many of their most basic human rights on a daily basis. Hebron’s historic city center has become what is often referred to as a ‘Ghost Town’.